"People are worse than anybody!"-I once knew a guy that had this
motto. Anytime a complaint came up about something on television, or
someone cutting in line, or just about the rudeness, crudeness,
selfishness, or just all around bad behavior of a person, he would spout
it out, "People are worse than anybody!"
The truth
is-People ARE worse than anybody. Ironically, those same people-the ones
that are cruel and thoughtless, the ones that are self-absorbed and
self-serving, the ones that have no idea how they are perceived by the
outside world..these SAME people are loved. wanted, needed and even
lauded in their own circles. Their actions, good, bad or indifferent,
are either tolerated, ignored, or celebrated.
My question is this--What is wrong with us? With them? With society? How does Dzhokhar Tsarnaev have
a fan club? Why on earth does Jodie Arias have a movie already out? And
how is it that loyalty is a totally lost in the world of relationships?
What ever happened to loving people and to punishing those that do
wrong? Not just people who commit crimes-but people that just do wrong
things? Why is there no accountability? What in the hell is going on
around this place?
Perhaps the answer lies in us having
no role models. We can't trust our President. We can't trust Eric
Holder. We can't trust the IRS. I remember several years ago delicately
explaining to my then 8 year old son what the media meant by oral sex.
He actually came and asked me about President Bill Clinton's actions. Of
course, I didn't really give him the definition. He had no idea what
sex was then, so I made up some bullshit story about Clinton not using
his words appropriately..then I made sure we didn't watch the news for a
while. I wrote a letter to President Clinton explaining my
disappointment. Of course, I got a form letter back three months later
that told me how the President "appreciates concerned citizens." Yeah,
right--well that doesn't help my son, now does it? That doesn't help
innocence lost by millions of children that were exposed to this very
public affair. Nor does it help the way this event forever maimed the
heroism and awe that once surrounded the Office of the President.
One
thing I can say..is, my gosh, at least SOMETHING was done about it. AT
LEAST it was investigated. AT LEAST impeachment was on the tip of
everyone's tongue--because of an extramarital affair. Yes, it was an
extramarital affair of the most famed marriage in the country..but let's
face it guys..that's what it was. Our rights weren't violated, laws
weren't broken, people weren't killed. Reporters lines weren't tapped.
Big Brother wasn't snooping in everyone's business. Maybe Clinton lied
about his relationship to the American public, we will never know. At
least he addressed the controversy and went through the inquiries. He
did not hide behind his desk in the Oval Office, skulking in the
shadows, taking uber-expensive vacations and thumbing his nose at the
public.
Now, don't get me wrong. I'm not a Democrat.
I've been a Republican since I was old enough to know the difference. I
loved Ronald Reagan and am still one of George W. Bush's biggest fans.
However, now I'm thinking I may now join the Tea Party.
They seem to be the only organization actually doing anything. Talking,
rallying, taking a stand...whatever it is, they are active and they are,
thus far, right on in their views.
I will admit, there
are many things about government and politics that I don't understand. I
was a homeschooling mother of two for twelve years, then I went to
nursing school and became a registered nurse. I'm from small town
Mississippi and have no degree from Harvard or Yale. I am 45 years old
and have a grandchild. I don't study law and I sometimes get confused
on the issues and have to go to Wikipedia to figure out things
like..where Benghazi is located. Yet, I did read the Affordable Care Act
and I can't believe it was passed or that the IRS is responsible for
its enforcement. I can't believe the secrecy in our supposedly
transparent President. I'm glad I voted for Mitt Romney. I believe
every voter that put Barack Obama into office should pay a monetary fine
for their ignorance.
In a nutshell-I am appalled! I
don't know what I can do to help things. I don't know if our country can
be salvaged. I don't know why so many well-educated individuals can't
make this country work properly. I don't know why a million Obama phones
where handed out to people, yet I was off work due to brain surgery,
and made only 25% of my normal income last year, yet my daughter can get
no grants for college, so we are amassing student loans like nobody's
business. I don't know why my ex-husband can just NOT pay what he agreed
to in our divorce decree..for over a year now, and the laws can't
manage to even make him show for court. I don't know how I can pay for
long term disability--and now am told they can refuse to pay me because I
have a pre-existing condition.( I was born with it, but it was just
found last year.) I PAID for that insurance, it wasn't a gift! When I
signed up for benefits, no one said it was conditional long term
disability-Liberty Mutual at it's finest! And on that note, why is it
that the doctors that misdiagnosed me all of those don't have to offer
me a refund, or pay a fine for being wrong, for being rude, or being
callous? Oh--that's right--they "practice" medicine--that doesn't mean
they are proficient.
Where is the justice? Is our hope
in the Tea Party? Is there another option? I have sat on the sidelines
long enough. Now, I want to know what I can personally do to change
things. What can I do? How can we reform the mindset o society? How can
we make our President tell the truth and set good example? Who is going
to say to the world that they should be kind, truthful and loyal to
others.
Treating other people the way we want to be treated. If we
all practiced this one simple rule--we could transform the America I
grew up in. We could transform our society. We could transform our
business and personal relationships. We could never again think or say,
"People are worse than anybody."
My plan is to
investigate more about the Tea Party and if they are all they seem to
be, I'll support them. I will write about my experience openly and
candidly, writing the good, the bad and the ugly. I won't hold back or
back down. I want to be part of the solution.
People
risk their lives to cross our borders illegally. I don't condone this by
any means. I just can't imagine their disappointment when they go
through unspeakable horrors to get here and then realize the American
Dream is nothing short of a nightmare.